Remarkably Unremarkable YA

I give to you a mass post because frankly, I would like to get on to reviewing better books and I am tired of talking about books that were kind of boring. So here are five boring books, reviewed minimally. Also I think I’m going to start linking to Goodreads pages instead of Amazon ones ’cause, you know, independent booksellers.

Title: Legend

Author: Marie Lu

So. Here’s basically how it goes. PLAGUES. DYSTOPIA. TRUE LOVE. CORRUPT GOVERNMENT.

“Oh, hello, my name is June and the government thinks I am the best at everything. My bro is pretty good too, but he’s DEAD so I’m going to find his murderer, and also I’m hot.”

“Oh, I’m Day, everyone thinks I’m a super-criminal-murderer or whatever but I just ran away because the government told me I had a shitty score but actually I’m pretty good at running around and stuff, just look at how I can escape the police, time after time! Also, I’m hot! Also, I may have accidentally killed ur bro. Would you like to be in super-mega-love?”

Predictable and boooooring. Sry, Marie Lu.

Title: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

“Oh man. I wish I knew how my friends died but I just can’t remember… also… weird the way the people I don’t like are just, like, dying you know???” It was okay, but mostly this book is another really obsessive teen relationship book plus mysterious murders and deaths and stuff. It tries to be all paranormal, but mostly doesn’t make any sense.

Title: Anna and the French Kiss

Author: Stephanie Perkins

I was kind of fond of this one in that way where it is just your typical YA my-dad-sent-me-to-Paris-to-go-to-school-because-he-doesn’t-understand-me-but-then-I-fell-in-love romance. Nothing special, but if you’re looking for a simple, paranormal-free romance that is cheesy and set in France, go read this.

Title: Gossip Girl

Author: Cecily von Ziegesar

Know why those girls on the cover are laughing and having so much fun? Because they are watching Gossip Girl on the CW. If they were reading Gossip Girl, they’d be totally bored.

Title: Anna Dressed in Blood

Author: Kendare Blake

If you thought undead/human romance was weird, don’t worry, this is the way more orthodox dead/human romance that you’ve been waiting for. I’m not really into ghost love, and also I cared about none of these characters. Except maybe Cas’s witch-mom, she was okay. Maybe his cat, too.

Anyway, hope you enjoy these books I wouldn’t recommend! Now I can blog about awesome books I read like The Marriage Plot and No One Is Here Except All of Us. Hurrah!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

