Edward Cullen, man of my dreams

Subtitled: Young Adults, WHY?

Yesterday I was chatting with a friend about teenage authors and said friend came across Australian Alexandra Adornetto who wrote a few books, the most recent of which was published in the United States. As much as I’d like to rant about how terrible that book sounds, instead I will direct you to a charming article she also wrote entitled “Why teenage boys suck more than vampires.” It’s kind of old, but given the continuing obsession with Twilight, still relevant.

Here are a few illuminating quotes, but you really should read the whole thing.

Edward is a classic gentleman and a SNAG rolled into one. And he has no difficulty articulating his emotions. What’s more, Edward is never confused about his role – he is comfortable as protector and provider. He is impeccably groomed and never has to be lectured about hygiene. He exercises superhuman control in keeping his relationship with Bella chaste, though he does fly into uncontrollable rages whenever Bella’s safety is compromised. But then, some of us girls happen to like that.

Apart from a small minority, teenage boys fall into three distinct categories: macho, metro or just plain muddled.

”Before you, Bella, my life was like a moonless night. Very dark, but there were stars – points of light and reason … and then you shot across my sky like a meteor.” I don’t know about you, but I’ll take the romantic hero (even the blood-sucking kind) every time.

UGH ARE YOU KIDDING ME? Degrading comments like “he is comfortable [in his role] as protector and provider” aside, why does any girl want a relationship with Edward Cullen?

It makes me really sad that so large a group of young adults is going for this sort of thing. Why, why, why? I would get it if the romance story was not so creepy, but it is. I hate that girls like Adornetto are idealizing a man like Edward Cullen and the relationship he has with Bella–it is not healthy. Without a man in her life, Bella’s life is miserable and meaningless. Edward is possessive and exhibits stalker-like behavior. But according to the books, he’s “perfect.” He is never given any flaws. He’s “cold,” “hard,” and “sparkling,” but perfect.

I just don’t get it. Why are romances like this popular when I’m sure there have got to be better examples out there? Why did this sell so well?

I find it really upsetting that anyone is looking to Twilight and its imitators as models for real life and real relationships. I could definitely go on and on about it, but I think I’ll stop here to avoid getting too mean.

At least I found a way to make myself feel better: reading the one-star reviews on Amazon and Goodreads for Adornetto’s book and assuring myself that there are a good number of people who share my opinions on her writing.

Leave a Reply

