I’M DONE.

Seven months and countless advisor meetings and hours spent in libraries later… and my Senior Independent Study thesis is DONE. FOREVER. DONE. (Except for the oral defense I’ll have to give within the next month or however long, but let’s not talk about that.) You might be wondering why I haven’t blogged about it yet, given that I’ve spent my whole senior year thus far on it. This is a happy place. Relaxing plus thinking about the biggest, most stressful paper ever does not equal happy. But now that it’s done and turned in (as of Friday, actually), I can share some details.

(My school’s colors/tartan and my number–122 out of however many seniors there are. We get buttons with our numbers on them!)

Title: The Poetics of Metaphor: How it Means, Conceptualizes, and Creates

Pages: 141

About: I’m an English and Philosophy double major, so I went the route of philosophy of language in order to accommodate both in one project. I wrote on metaphor and its ability to semantically mean. Because metaphor can semantically mean, it is also capable of meaning creation. Further, because poetry is so full of metaphor, poetry is a breeding ground for meaning. I wrote six chapters on that. Simultaneously, I worked on corresponding poetry. The poems all ruminate on the philosophical ideas, but I promise they aren’t as boring as they might sound. There are 44 of them and some of them (I think) are actually pretty decent.

Lessons Learned:

  • A designated work space is necessary. We all get carrels in the library and that carrel was the one place I could get a lot done. I tried multiple times to convince myself that I could get things done in my room or in other academic buildings, but these were all lies to myself. A designated work space got me into a zone of efficiency.
  • Making lists helps. When it seemed that I had too many tasks ahead of me and the whole thing felt impossible, making lists on post-its helped me to feel as though I was accomplishing something despite the sea of writing still looming ahead.
  • Just because you can work for hours and hours doesn’t mean you should. Breaks are necessary for morale and the continuing enjoyment / pretend enjoyment of your project. Attempting to get things done for a relaxing weekend, however, is also a good choice. It’s all about balance.
  • It is worth some stress, but not a ton of stress.
  • It will never be perfect. Ever.

So this project is the reason I’ve been sparsely blogging and haven’t attempted to publicize the blog at all–no time! But I’ve got some plans now for all the extra time I’ll have. Blogging. Reading. Sewing. Thrifting and then sewing. TV? Internet? Sleep? Food and cooking? Trying to get published. Some of those poems I wrote–maybe someday you’ll read them in a lit mag. WE’LL SEE. The possibilities are endless. Right now I’m being the laziest ever and reading The Blind Assassin. Diggin it.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

